Superworld Superposition

Now that I’m watching the movie “Welt am Draht” from 1973 about simulated worlds, I am reminded of a remarkable semester during my mathematics studies that changed everything for me. I studied mathematical logic, I came up with the idea of superworld superposition, my dad died, I realized the abundance of immortality. It was terrific. My world was shaken to its core. My view of reality expanded beyond infinity.

Back then I already had contacts with the international transhumanist community, and the idea that this world could be a highly sophisticated computer simulation hadn’t been foreign to me. Of course, this idea implies the question whether this world is a computer simulation or not. Now, one is usually compelled to answer this question with “yes”, or “no”, but this reveals a thinking that’s rooted in Aristotelian logic and only accepts the answers of “true” or “false” for propositions. And that’s an assumption that simplified reality, perhaps too much. No, definitely too much. If we try to think beyond Aristotelian logic and entertain the thought that there may be answers beyond “true” / “yes”, and “false” / “no”, things start getting really interesting.