Latest | Categories | Top | Blog | Wiki | Futurist Directory | About | Help | Fractal Generator | H+Pedia

CODE University: A Testimony

(Darian) #1

As I have said in my introductory post, I am a student at CODE University of Applied Science (in the following simply called ‘CODE’). I want to tell you about my journey at this institutions; I will update this thread after every semester. As of the time writing this, I am in the second semester, so you’ll find my impressions on the first semester down below. Feel free to ask me any question about CODE, here or privately. I will answer whatever I can!

I will try to be as close to reality as I can be but be advised that my recollections may be false in a few points. I will also try to be as honest as I can about CODE.

Now, before we start, allow me to give you the run-down of CODE. CODE University is a private university in Berlin, Germany. Founded in 2017 by Thomas Bachem, Manuel Dolderer, and Jonathan Rüth. CODE gained state recognition in July of 2017 and is currently working on having their study programs accredited. CODE is offering three different courses: Software Engineer (SE), Interaction Design (ID) and Product Management (PM); Each of these is resulting in their own Bachelor of Arts. The first semester had a total of 88 students enroled, selected from roughly 2000 applicants.

When I applied to CODE in June, they were yet to get their state recognition, so my application was a leap of faith. The application functions in 3 steps - at least back when I first applied. The first part is basically telling CODE about yourself. Talking about your hopes and dreams, your aspirations, your inspiration, you get the idea.
I shouldn’t talk too much about the second step here, as I’ve been asked to keep details to myself, but this step involves a challenge to be solved by the applicant, to show how they think and how their decision making works.